Buddhism: The Different Forms of Buddhism

Posted: March 1, 2019 at 7:50 pm

without comments

For nearly 500 years after his death, the Buddha's teachings were passed through generations of the monastic community by oral tradition. In the late first century BCE they were first written down in a collection known as the Pali Canon. Since then a variety of additional texts and translations have appeared as a means for disseminating his ancient wisdom. Now in the 21st century we have the benefit of a new medium; the Internet is a resource utilized by lay practitioners and monastics alike for bringing the religion of Buddhism to the world.

One of the oldest enduring Eastern religions, Buddhism was founded in India during the sixth ... read more

During Buddhism's 2,500 year history, several thriving sects have emerged, each with a unique take on the teachings of Buddha and daily practice. In this section we'll contrast the three dominant strains of Buddhism: Theravada, Mahayana, and Vajrayana, along with a fourth-Zen Buddhism-that grew out of Mahayana and has gained increasing popularity in the West. We'll explore these traditions' differing approaches to the dharma, their conduct of monastic practice, and the geographic boundaries that define them.

Whether you're looking for the Pali Canon, Zen parables and koans, Mahayana text, or scholarly ... read more

Many prominent Buddhist organizations host sites with information aimed at helping you further your ... read more

Whether you're looking for a statue of the Buddha to serve as inspiration in your practice, a book ... read more

Buddhism has a large, vibrant community of online practitioners. Cyberspace abounds with Buddhist ... read more

See the rest here:
Buddhism: The Different Forms of Buddhism

Related Post

Written by admin |

March 1st, 2019 at 7:50 pm

Posted in Buddhist Concepts